Castle of Ucero
Where is this castle?
The Castle of Ucero is located in Ucero is only 14 minutes away from our hotel. Discover the route of arrival here.
Why is the Castle of Ucero interesting?
The Castle of Ucero is located in a unique naturspacioal of Soria, the Canyon of the river Lobos. Visiting it we can witness the history and make a trip to the past, because the area was populated from prehistory. Around it, we can find rupestrian remains, Roman constructions, nature, culture and history in pure state.
It is thought that the castle already existed in the 13th century, because there are data on the castle of 1157.
The castle is considered a Templar settlement since the time of Alfonso I of Aragon, theory with much sense because very close was the convent of San Juan de Otero also linked with the Order of the Temple.
Juan González de Ucero was his first lord in 1212, obtained that appointment after participating in the battle of the Navas of Tolosa next to King Alfonso VII. Later the town and the castle passed into the hands of Juan García de Ucero, after his death, passed into the hands of his wife who handed him over to the illegitimate daughter he had with King Sancho IV of Castile, Violante Sanchez de Castilla.
After that, Violante Sanchez and the Bishop of Osma had a distended suit for the possession of the lord of Ucero, who according to her legally belonged to the inheritance of her mother and had been occupied and illegally held by the bishop of Osma since, according to him, bought it on May 23, 1302 for 300,000 maravedis, along with other properties, to the executors of Juan Garcia de Villamayor. Finally, Violante continued to consider himself the owner of the manor and in 1327 donated it, along with the rest of his possessions, to the Order of Santiago, obviating that the señorío de Ucero belonged from 1302 to the bishops of Osma.
In the 16th century the castle was rebuilt by order of Bishop Pedro de Montoya. Honorato Juan placed his coat of arms over the main entrance in the seventeenth century. The use of the castle by the bishopric of Osma has been very different, from palatial mansion for bishops to jail for clerics.
Do you want to visit the castle?
For more information on schedules and visits, please contact 975 363 541 (City Hall).
More information in: