Collegiate Church of San Antolín and La Mota Castle
In Medina del Campo, the city of exhibitions, we have two wonderful historical visits. Transported from the Iron Age to the era of the Catholic Monarchs. Join us to discover the Church of Collegiate Church of San Antolín and La Mota Castle.
Collegiate Church of San Antolín:
The tower has five sections separated by slightly projecting stone fascia, with a concluding octagonal floor, on which there is an iron structure substituting the octagonal spire, which was destroyed by lightening in 1841. On the bell tower there is "Santa Bárbara" the big bell, cast in 1588, popularly known as "Maria bell", and on the eastern wall there are two bells from 1641 and 1836, both dedicated to San Antolin. In the fifth section, there is a clock whose curious mechanism formed two rams on the sphere, indicating the quarter-hours, by crashing their respective foreheads into two small bells (they were the original figures installed towards the second quarter of the 16th century). Just above them, where the stone balustrade is interrupted, stood two big articulated figures flanking a bell, which signified the hour; since the late 19th century. A couple of maragatos two meters heigh can also be seen at the top of the Tower on both sides of the monumental Gothic campaign, dedicated to Saint María known as "Maragata".
From Tuesday to Sunday: 12.00 Fridays and Saturdays: 12.00 and 16.00. Closed on Mondays.
Minimum groups of 6 and maximum of 15 people. Advance reservation: minimum of 24 hours in advance.
Limited access due to the characteristics of the tower, accessibility and safety conditions. This tour is not recommended for all the general public (it is necessary to fill out and sign an acceptance form of the visiting rules in order to gain access).
Advance reservation and purchase of tickets at the Royal Testament Palace.
Castle of La Mota:
Visit the Castle of la Mota, from the remains of the Iron Age to the medieval walls. A visit where you can learn and discover the history of Castile since time immemorial.
A castle located in Medina del Campo town, which has gradually been taking shape throughout history. There are many legends surrounding the origins of the castle, but everything seems to indicate that it was a long transformation in which King John II of Castile and his son Henry IV were actively involved with the construction of the interior of the fortress and the Tower of Tribute. The Catholic Monarchs, who ordered the construction of the defensive barrier, went from having just one more castle, to possessing one of the best Artillery Parks in Europe at that time.
The construction of the castle does not end with the intervention of the Catholic Kings. From its origins, it became a living monument that adapted to the needs of the time, even today. Currently its exteriors are fully restored, a process which has taken several years. The moat has been dug and covered with cement, so the weather conditions do not affect the architectural work that has been with us since time immemorial.
Here Isabel the Catholic spent her last days and dictated her last will in Medina before dying in 1504. Isabel of Castile (better known as Isabel the Catholic) was born in 1451 in Madrigal de las Altas Torres, a small town in the province of Avila, just 27 km from Medina del Campo. Her hectic family and political life led her as a young child to settle in Medina, the largest city in that area. In 1468, her half-brother Henry IV, recognised her as Princess of Asturias and from that moment she became the Lady of Medina. Uniting a large part of her destiny to Medina del Campo, where the silhouette of the castle of La Mota stands out in its own glory.
It was in 1440 when the Fonesca family began to build the current castle on the corner of an ancient Arab enclosure. The construction was directed by Mudéjar architects, who drafted an innovating design marked by the moat, the barbican, which surrounds the complex and the Tower of Tribute, 40 meters and five stories high. The Castle of La Mota consists of two enclosures. The exterior, in Mudejár style, bears the coat of arms of the Catholic Monarchs, completely surrounding the fortress. The castle is accessed through an imposing drawbridge in working order today. This enclosure contains storerooms, dungeons, as well as a number of underground galleries and fascinating passages. The inner enclosure comprises of four towers and a square courtyard. Rooms in the castle can be found, in addition to cellars, stables, etc. It is especially interesting to visit the famous viewing-point of the Queen, a 15th century chamber covered by a spectacular polychrome dome. Which as the name suggests, was the favourite room of Isabella the Catholic.
Tuesday - Saturday; from 10.00 to 14.00 and from 15.45 to 19.00; Sundays and bank holidays from 10.00 to 14.30